Ryedale District Council


 We are currently experiencing intermittent issues with our telephone service, we apologise for any inconvenience and we hope it will be resolved soon

You are here: Home Your Council Elections and voting UK Parliamentary Election

UK Parliamentary (General) Election

For information and guidance on registering to vote, proxy votes, postal votes and voting at an election, please visit our Voting Information page.

Parliamentary General Election – 12 December 2019

Notice of Election - Thirsk and Malton Constituency  (PDF, 1 page, 72kb)


If you are interested in standing for election, a nomination pack will be available to download from this page. The deadline for receiving completed nomination forms is 4pm on 14 November 2019.

The slides from the Candidates and Agents briefing held on 7 November 2019 are available to download (PDF, 37 pages, 698kb)

Elector reference information for candidates and agents for calculating spending limits and mailing volumes

A list of candidates will be published on the website after nominations have closed.

Poll cards
Poll cards will be issued on 14 November 2019. You do not need a poll card to vote, so long as you are on the register.

Additional mailings of poll cards for those who register to vote in the run up to the election will be issued on 21 and 29 November and 6 December 2019.

Polling stations
A list of polling stations will be available on the website ahead of polling day.

Registering to vote
The deadline to apply to register to vote is 26 November 2019. You only need to apply if you are not already on the electoral register. Applications can be made online at GOV.UK and you will need your National Insurance number. Please include an email address on your application if possible, so we can contact you electronically to confirm your registration or ask for any additional documentary evidence.

Absent votes
If you are not able to vote at the polling station, you can apply for an absent vote, to vote by post or proxy. If you already have an absent vote in place, you do not need to reapply.

If you have a postal vote in place by 6 November 2019, your postal ballot pack will be mailed on 25 November, or 19 November 2019 if you live overseas. If you apply for a postal vote after that date, up until the deadline at 5pm on 26 November 2019, then your postal ballot pack will be mailed on 2 December 2019.

For you to appoint a proxy to vote on your behalf, you need to apply by 5pm on 4 December 2019.

Absent vote application forms are available to download from the website.

Votes will be counted overnight and the declaration made on the morning of 13 December 2019. The results will be available here.


Result 2017

Candidate Party Votes
Alan Philip Avery Labour Party  14571
Martin Brampton Green Party  1100
John Clark The Liberal Party  753
Kevin Paul Hollinrake The Conservative Party Candidate  33572 (E)
Toby Horton UK Independence Party (UKIP)  1532
Dinah Elizabeth Keal Liberal Democrat  3859
Philip James Tate Independent  542

Kevin Paul Hollinrake was duly elected as the Member of Parliament for Thirsk and Malton

Voter turnout - 71.22%

Total rejected votes - 94

ballot box


Further information?

Please submit an Enquiry Form.



Contact us

Ryedale District Council
Ryedale House
Old Malton Road
Malton, North Yorkshire
YO17 7HH

Email: Contact the Council

Phone: 01653 600666

Connect with us


Like us on Facebook Facebook 
Follow us on Twitter Twitter
Follow us on Flickr Flickr
 Subscribe to us on Youtube= YouTube
 Connect with us on LinkedIn= LinkedIn