Ryedale District Council


You are here: Home Your Council Elections and voting North Yorkshire Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner Election

North Yorkshire Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner Election

Elections in 2021

An election for the next Yorkshire Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner (PFCC) was due to be held on Thursday 7 May 2020, but was postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic. 

This election was held on Thursday 6 May 2021. The North Yorkshire County Council Elections, due to be held on the same day, have now been postponed until May 2022.

Declaration of final result for Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner election for North Yorkshire (PDF, 1 page, 40kb)


Declaration of result for Ryedale Stage 1 Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner election for North Yorkshire (PDF, 1 page, 98kb)

Declaration of result for Ryedale Stage 2 Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner election for North Yorkshire (PDF, 1 page, 97kb)


Notice of Poll (PDF, 2 pages, 77kb)

Situation of polling stations (PDF, 4 pages, kb)

Statement of persons nominated (PDF, 1 page, 15kb)

Notice of election agents (PDF, page, 13kb)


Notice of election - Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner (PDF, 2 pages, 77kb)

Notice of submission of candidate addresses PFCC (PDF, 1 page, 22kb)


PFCCs are elected every four years and are elected representatives who oversee a police force and fire service area. There will be one PFCC elected for all of North Yorkshire. The national candidates' website for PFCC candidates is www.choosemypcc.org.uk and the helpline is 0808 1986 2170.

North Yorkshire County Councillors are also elected every four years. There are 72 County Councillors, each representing the residents of the county's electoral divisions. More information about current North Yorkshire County Councillors can be found here.


Covid-19 and the Election

Due to Covid-19 and the ongoing restrictions, the elections this year will require additional provisions to make polling stations safe for voters and staff. Risk assessments are being undertaken and a number of measures will be implemented to ensure everyone's safety. Staff will be issued with safety equipment such as screens, hand sanitizer, gloves, masks, additional signage and cleaning products to keep the polling station clean throughout the day. There may be a limit to the number of voters that can enter a station at any one time, one-way systems will need to be implemented, social distancing will be in force and voters will be required to wear a mask over their nose and mouth in polling stations (unless exempt). Voters will also be encouraged to bring their own pencil or pen with them, but we will still be providing pencils as usual. The safety of voters and staff is very important to us - training will be delivered to all staff on best practice for delivering a Covid secure election. 

Key Dates

Notice of Election - by 15 March 2021

Appointment and Notice of Election Agents - by 8 April 2021

Receipt of Nominations and Withdrawal of Candidates - by 8 April 2021

Statement of Persons Nominated - by 9 April 2021

Last date for Registration - by 19 April 2021

Receipt of Postal Vote Applications - by 20 April 2021

Receipt of Proxy Applications - by 27 April 2021

Notice of Poll - by 27 April 2021

Appointment of Polling and Counting Agents - by 28 April 2021

First Date to Reissue Lost or Spoilt Postal Vote Packs - 29 April 2021

Receipt of Emergency Proxy Vote Applications - by 5pm 6 May 2021 (Polling Day)

Return of Election Expenses - by 16 July 2021

Absent Voting (Postal and Proxy Votes)

It's never too early to apply for an absent vote for the forthcoming elections - you can do so by filling in a postal vote application form and sending it to the Council's Electoral Registration Team. Completed application forms must reach the Electoral Registration Team by 5.00pm on Tuesday 20 April 2021.

To apply to vote by proxy in these elections, completed proxy application forms must reach the Electoral Registration Team by 5.00pm on Tuesday 27 April 2021. If after this date you are unable to vote in person due to medical or work reasons, you can apply for an emergency proxy; to arrange an emergency proxy, please contact the Electoral Registration Team directly via the contact details below. The deadline for emergency proxy applications is 5.00pm on polling day, Thursday 6 May 2021.

What is the police and crime commissioner election?PCC 280 News

On 15 September 2011, the Police Reform and Social Responsibility Act 2011 introduced the role of an elected police and crime commissioner for each of the 41 police force areas in England and Wales outside London.

Elections are held every four years and in the North Yorkshire police force area, the following councils hold elections.

  • City of York Council
  • Craven District Council
  • Hambleton District Council
  • Harrogate Borough Council
  • Richmondshire District Council
  • Ryedale District Council
  • Scarborough Borough Council
  • Selby District Council

For each police force area, one council acts as the lead authority to undertake the nominations of candidates and co-ordination of the results.  For North Yorkshire, the lead authority is Ryedale District Council.

The last election was held on 5 May 2016 and Julia Mulligan was elected as the Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner for York and North Yorkshire. See results (PDF, 1 page, 40kb)

The turnout for York and North Yorkshire elections is 135,642 (22.47 per cent). The highest percentage of residents to vote was Craven with a turn out of 33.98 per cent.

In the 2012 PCC elections, the highest percentage of residents to vote was Ryedale with a turn out of 16.75 per cent in per cent, with an overall regional turnout of 88,615 (14.3 per cent).

What is Supplementary Voting?

Police, Fire and Crime Commissioners will be elected using the supplementary voting system.  This is currently the system used to elect mayors.

Voting will be by way of a simple majority system unless there are 3 or more candidates.  If there are 3 or more candidates then the commissioner will be returned under the supplementary vote system.

Under the supplementary vote system, a voter is asked to indicate first and second preferences, if no candidate has 50 per cent of the first preference votes, the two candidates with the highest number of first preference votes go forward to a second round.

In the second round of counting ballots indicating a first preference for a candidate that lost the first round are reallocated according to the second preference indicated in the ballot paper.

How can I find out more?

More information is available from GOV.UK.


Contact us

Ryedale District Council
Ryedale House
Old Malton Road
Malton, North Yorkshire
YO17 7HH

Email: Contact the Council

Phone: 01653 600666

Connect with us


Like us on Facebook Facebook 
Follow us on Twitter Twitter
Follow us on Flickr Flickr
 Subscribe to us on Youtube= YouTube
 Connect with us on LinkedIn= LinkedIn