Ryedale District Council

Conservation areas

Local Planning Authorities have a duty to determine which areas in their district are of a high enough quality to designate as Conservation Areas.

Conservation Areas are defined in the Planning (Listed Building and Conservation Areas Act) 1990 as 'areas of special architectural or historic interest, the character or appearance of which it is desirable to preserve or enhance'. Conservation Areas are therefore those areas considered to have the most important environmental quality in the District.

The character of Conservation Areas is as varied as our landscape. In some parts of the country they include, for example, terraces of workers' cottages, inter-war housing developments, and formal urban squares. In Ryedale, however, the majority of Conservation Areas are small, rural settlements whose character is derived from the unique way in which the man-made elements (such as houses, cottages, walls, churches, farms and public buildings, etc) of each settlement relate to each other and the natural framework of landscape features (such as village greens, becks, ponds, trees, hedges and distinctive topographical features).

What living in a Conservation Area means for residents

An area designated as a Conservation Area requires planning applications to be made for certain types of development which are elsewhere classified as permitted development. These extra controls are designed to preserve or enhance the character of the area and the quality of design. The regulations are complicated, so it is advisable to consult the Planning Department before you undertake any new work. However, Planning Permission is likely to be required for the following works:

  • cladding any part of the exterior;
  • demolition of an unlisted building in a Conservation Area;
  • alterations to the roof of a dwelling house which results in a material alteration to its shape, notably dormer windows;
  • extensions of above 50 m3
  • (NB this figure is normally 70m3 outside a Conservation Area).
  • Also within Conservation Areas

Extra publicity is given to planning applications affecting Conservation Areas, with a general view to preserving or enhancing the area.

Notice must be given to the Council before works are carried out to any tree in a Conservation Area.

The display of advertisements may be more restricted in a Conservation Area.

Whilst there are works which can be done in a Conservation Area without consent, it is important to remember that the character of an area is often the result of many small details.

There are currently 46 Conservation Areas in Ryedale, of which 12 are in the National Park and four are part in the National Park and part in Ryedale. The most recent at Howsham was designated in March 2001.

Designated Conservation Areas in Ryedale


Aislaby Allerston    Ampleforth    
Appleton-le-Moors Barton-le-Street Barton-le-Willows
Bulmer Claxton Cold Kirby
Coneysthorpe Flaxton Gillamoor
Harome Hawnby Helmsley
Howsham Hovingham Hutton-le-Hole
Kirkbymoorside Langton Lastingham
Levisham Lockton Malton (Old Town)
Malton (Town Centre) Marton Middleton
Norton-on-Derwent Nunnington Old Byland
Oswaldkirk Pickering (Keld Head)

Pickering (Town Centre)

Rievaulx Rosedale Abbey Sand Hutton
Settrington Sheriff Hutton Sinnington
Slingsby Terrington Thornton Dale
Welburn Westow Wintringham

Contact us

Ryedale District Council
Ryedale House, Old Malton Road
Malton, North Yorkshire
YO17 7HH

Find our main offices by map

Connect with us

You are here: Home All services Planning and development Conservation and regeneration Conservation areas